Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2009 4:45 AM by phanio

What do I do after creating a prototype for a product?

nataliemaria Newbie
      I have an idea for a product that would probably be categorized as home decor. I've made a prototype of my idea ( to do this I needed to sew, which I've never done before until now, it turned out okay but definitely isn't in the condition I would want it to be to sell). I'm not quite sure where to go with this now. I believe my market would primarily be women. Do I learn to sew better, make more and try to sell my product to people locally? Or do I try to sell it to stores or catalogs? What is the next step I should take? Also, when is the right time in this process to get a patent? I have no business experience, I'm an artist! Any information is much appreciated.

Thank You!

• Re: What do I do after creating a prototype for a product?
          dhome2009 Newbie

Try flea markets, craft fairs, art and music festivals held in parks, etc. Thats just a few ideas, if I have more I will email you or send another reply
            puzzleman Tracker
            Hello, I started out my business like you with an idea and started vending at art and craft shows. As my business has grown considerably from those days, I still do art and craft shows. They are a great way to talk directly with people and get their feedback. Kind of like doing focus groups but you can also make money at the same time.

My suggestion is to hire a seamstress to make the products and you spend your time on the marketing, distribution and design. I have learned that those are the three areas where I have the most impact. I have started getting away from the distribution side a little as I now devote a lot of my time to the marketing (getting the word out and selling is job #1) and designing new products and /or designs (gotta keep those ideas flowing).