Post a new topic
    24 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2008 5:50 PM by Symphony

Web Site Start Up Costs??

Dwaz39 Wayfarer

I have an idea for a website and am in the very preliminary stages. I have no experience in any web-related ventures, and was wondering what start-up costs would be for a website. I know this is really vague, but I don't even really know what is needed to set up the site or anything. I figured this would be a good place to start gathering info. If anyone can help me either with rough estimates of cost or help me ask better questions is would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
        • Re: Web Site Start Up Costs??
          GFX Reb0rn Newbie
          Well, To partly answer your question, to purchase a domain name can cost about $6 a year. I have no Idea what other costs may be incurred with the design of the site and any other features you would like to offer such as Pay Pal or other shopping cart services.
            batchblue Wayfarer
            Hi there - While I don't have an exact figure for this either, I found this company (Vario Creative) in my research on small business and it looks like they provide a great base Web offering for small businesses: http://www.variocreative.com/small_business_starter_kit.php
            The owner of the company also has a blog and I know from reading it he is a real advocate for small businesses. Might be worth dropping him a line to get an idea of cost. Hope this helps!
            1 of 1 people found this helpful
              DomainDiva Ranger
              Are you opening an online store front? If so yahoo can help. If you are the do it yourself type, get your domain name at http://www.godaddy.com and look at what they have to offer as web building tools as well. HINT: work at night so you can call tech support and get more help. The guys get bored late at night so when someone who is a do it yourselfer calls you get all kinds of help and suport...
                Lighthouse24 Ranger