Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2009 12:36 PM by wilfin

Q's regarding SBA's and Small Biz Loans... Confused

importbiz Newbie
      Hi all - I'm a small business owner, looking for some advice/direction in regards to business loans. I've been trying, to no avail, to apply for a business loan. To summarize - My business banker did the standard practice of discounting business assets (inventory, A/R, equipment) to determine a suitable size loan. That amount came out to $150-200k depending on what discount percentage. This loan will be used to acquire extra inventory for the upcoming season - I've already put together all the equipment, infrastructure, and manpower.

The loan was submitted to corporate, and corporate came back with a $25k approval, which I turned down. My branch manager then referred my loan to their SBA department, and they approved for $70k, which I also turned down. Two reasons for not giving me the requested amount: Insufficient personal assets, and industry (automotive), even though I show strong profits year after year. They basically said that I needed some real estate, even though I offered cash as a secured deposit.

I've spoke with other community banks, and they all gave me a somewhat manipulative answer: Transfer your business checking over first. So I'm a bit confused now... Do I not meet the requirements? Is it because I own no real estate?? I mean, I can convert my cash into equity in a real estate, but do I really want to do that? Any advice would be appreciated :)

Stats: Annual sales $2-3M, Fico 700+, 5 years in business.

On a side note, I turned around, and applied for 3 business credit cards and was immediately approved for a total of $50k, without submitting 100+ pages of financials.
        • Re: Q's regarding SBA's and Small Biz Loans... Confused
          bmt2008 Adventurer