Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2009 10:12 PM by NoBullFunding

Financing a Small Business

Miss_Biz Newbie
      Hello, I am new to this Small Business Community. I am looking to start a small business, in retail specifically. The retail space that I'm looking to lease is in my apartment complex, and perfectly positioned across the street from my college. It is a high traffic area where thousands of students walk by during the week.

My dilemma: Financing.

I've never owned a business before and have limited resources. My business partner and I are in the process developing a detailed proposal in an attempt to secure a small business loan. Our credit is good, but we're both still in college. I'm curious about the likelihood of us receiving an financing from a bank. I would like to avoid investors simply because I want to do it our way. We have good ideas, and I am fully confident we will begin a profitable business if we are lucky enough to recieve a loan.

I would greatly appreciate feedback on the matter.
        • Re: Financing a Small Business
          LUCKIEST Guide
          Financing a Small Business, Welcome

Anybody looking to start a small business should get in touch with SCORE. SCORE is FREE both in person and online.
          SCORE can help you finish your detailed proposal (called a Business Plan). The plan is a flexible document that should change as your business grows and changes. Many times a SCORE Counselor can help ease the way to the bank's loan officer.

Best of luck, LUCKIEST
            bmt2008 Adventurer
            What type of retail store are you looking to open? Hopefully it caters to college students or persons in you complex.