This discussion is locked
Post a new topic
10 Replies Latest reply: Dec 23, 2011 1:18 PM by Moderator Jim RSS

Quickbooks vs Peachtree

rolonap Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello SBOC:

Since I started my business in Sept 2008 I have used Quicken to keep up with bank accounts and balances. My POS software handles inventory. My business is in retail and I am ready to switch to a real accounting software, can anyone shine any light on the pros and cons of these 2 softwares?

Thanks
  • Re: Quickbooks vs Peachtree
    LUCKIEST Master
    Quickbooks vs Peachtree, Welcome

I am a Quickbooks Consultant and YES I use it.
    To me Peachtree does not seem to be as popular as it used to be.
    If you decide to go with Q B, I will be happy to help and answer your questions.

Good luck, LUCKIEST
    Santa Fe CPA Novice

Hello Rolonap,

This is a good question. As a CPA and bookkeeping business I have and my clients have used both programs. They are designed from different approaches to the needs for accounting information.

In my opinion, Peachtree (PT) is oriented more to the needs of an accounting professional while QuickBooks (QB) is better suited to a small business owner's need for immediate management information.

They both are quite easy to use once you know how. It is important to get proper training on the system before doing it yourself.

The system operations and interfaces tend to be very intuitive.with funtional data flow diagrams. Both now have a dash board available on the opening screen.

QB has a more flexible reporting scheme. It is the only program that will produce daily reports, that is one day's transactions at a time. QB has a stronger report filtering function. PT reports are more period, monthly or quarterly, in their data display. PT seems to have the better Payroll and Fixed Asset modules, however I fnd the differences to be not that significant.