Post a new topic
    8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2010 11:50 PM by mismatched77

Would like to sell or merge my clothing business. Help!

flafashion Newbie
      Hello, I have a clothing line that I am looking to merge with a larger company or bring on an investor. It is about 2 years old and has been featured in national magazines, photographed on celebrities and appeared on television shows. I know this brand could become a household brand if just given the correct partnership or opportunity. Major retailers have approached me about my line and I know it is only a matter of time before this line takes off. Unfortunately I do not have the financing to bring this company in the direction it needs to go and I am much more talented with design (I am a fashion designer by trade) than I am with business development. I am looking to take this company in a new direction, but I am not ever sure where to begin. Has anyone had any experience in this area or can anyone offer some advice. It would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance.
        • Re: Would like to sell or merge my clothing business. Help!
          Tracker

If you have a strong and viable business model and opportunity, there are ways to accomplish your objective. But those ways all start with having a good foundation from which to begin with. The first thing to do is to be sure that you have yourself lined up properly with the right documentation about your business.

Here's some questions for you:

1) Are you currently producing revenue and you have prepared financial statements for the time that you have been in business?

2) Are you profitable?

3) Have you collected documentation to show where your company/product line has been featured or reported on by the media (any media, local, state, regional or national)?

4) Do you have any testimonials from noteworthy clientele (celebrities etc.) or video clips from TV appearances?