Post a new topic
    11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2009 3:02 PM by fundme

Self-employed and injured on the job - medical cost ramifications?

FlyinBob Newbie

I'm a self-employed aviation engineer. I was crouching under the low wing of a client's airplane and cut my scalp on the airplane flap. After a trip to the hospital, stitches etc, everything's fine now (and I certainly am not going to involve my client in this - they were with me at the time and helped patch me up, and this was no fault of theirs).

But I wonder, because the injury happened "on the job", are the medical costs I incurred deductible in some manner besides the usual; should they be recategorized somehow? If this had happened to an employee, the picture may have been clearer.

• Re: Self-employed and injured on the job - medical cost ramifications?
          gagirl Newbie
          If the hospital bill is not too expensive and you can afford it, i would suggest that you don't file as workers compensation, pay it out of your pocket. If you decide to file it, your worker's compensation insurance will increase.

In the future if something minor and does not required hospitalization, go to an urgent care facility and pay out of pocket, usually the doctor's will give you discount and will not charge you as much as he/she will charge the insurance.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            DomainDiva Ranger
            Your accountant should be able to help you get the deduction (If any) you may be entitled to.
            1 of 1 people found this helpful
              GasisaRipoff Newbie
              Your health insurer will deny this if they know it happened on a job site. If an employee was injured instead of you, that would get complicated, espeically if you had no Workers Comp coverage for them.