Post a new topic
    13 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2011 5:52 PM by sydbarrettsyd

Starting a Woodworking business

StanleyMade Newbie

I have worked in the IT industry for 20+ years, starting as a programmer then working my way up to management and project management. I'm having problems finding a new IT opportunity so I thought I'd try something different. I'm a woodworking hobbyist for over 30 years and completed several projects for my home, family and friends. I have a small shop in my 2-bay garage and interested in starting a business providing custom furniture, cabinets, tables, etc... I'm not much of a salesman and I have some reservations as a result. Although, I'm very meticulous, extremely good with details and planning. I should be able to use these attributes in a business

Any suggestions on how I should start?
        • Re: Starting a Woodworking business
          DomainDiva Ranger
          Contact some interior designers and invite them over to see your work.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
            Lighthouse24 Ranger

A few suggestions . . .

If you live in (or have a friend/relative who does) a relatively high traffic area, set some of your finished work on the driveway early on a Saturday morning, along with an unfinished piece that you can be working on. People passing by looking for garage sales, taking their children to activities, etc. will be able to see at a glance that you do woodworking and have things for sale. Those who are interested (either in one of your items, or in some light carpentry or finish work will stop to talk.

If you have any spring home and garden shows, flea markets, or craft malls in your area (and if booth space is affordable), consider setting up a display at one or more of them.