Post a new topic
    5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2009 7:52 AM by Adducent

Seeking Business/ Marketing Plan Assistance

Ms_Boss Adventurer
      I am searching for assistance with writing a business and marketing plan for my clothing company to present to investors. I have used some layouts of other business plans which has helped me to a certain extent and yet here are still some dots that need to be connected with in my plan. Any suggestions?
        • Re: Seeking Business/ Marketing Plan Assistance
          Tracker

I'm going to share with you some important things that I've learned over 26 years of real-world business experience from some of the most successful investors, investment and venture capital firms in the world about how they read business plans and what they look for in them.

First some basic advice: With business plans, size does not matter.

Let me say that again.

Size does not matter.

Never lard up a business plan just to make it a hefty read, thinking to "wow" people based on its bulk. That does not impress experienced business people, knowledgeable investors and funding sources.

Experienced and successful business professionals know this and focus their business plan to make it concise and succinct; one that hits all the "hot buttons" but does not say more than it should.

If you use a template to create your business plan, use it as a guide only and modify extensively to give it its own distinct identity. Strip out and replace any "boiler-plate" language that is not necessary and put in only the important things you need to convey (read on to learn what that consists of). If you hire a business plan writer (who may write well but does not have a great deal of business experience), be sure not to just accept what they give you as being the best for you. Make sure it answers the five most important things that investors and funding sources look for ... no more ... no less.