Post a new topic
    7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2011 8:11 PM by Snapshot&co

I need advice on how to START my business.

linguist Newbie
      Hello everyone!

First of all, I am completely new to all of this. I have never considered turning one of my favorite hobbies into a business until now. The idea was suggested to me recently and 2009 sounds like a good year to make things happen!

I went to school for graphic arts and media. Although I do not currently work in this field, I would like to start a business in it. For the last several years, I have designed DVD slide shows for friends and family free of charge. I have also done slide shows for schools, non-profit organizations, anniversaries and events. In addition I do photo editing and graphic/website design. I have offered these services for free to the public for promotional purposes. Now I would like to start a business in creating DVD slide shows and photo montages. I know these types of businesses also like to offer miscellaneous services such as logo designing, VHS to DVD conversion, and DVD duplication. My business will offer those services as well, but the main focus would be DVD slide shows. I have the tools, the talent, and some money -- now I just need to get started!

But where and how do I start?

I have decided that for now, the best thing to do is work out of my home. I have all the essential software and equipment already. I will set up a website for demos/examples, pricing and packages, services, ordering, etc.

My main concern are the technicalities. Does this business need to be licensed and how do I go about doing that? Do I need to have a personal license to do business and how do I get that? And what about insurance . . . what sort of coverage do I need? Does the business I plan to set up require it? Do I need to be registered with some kind of organization?

Any answers (as well as other professional advice) to my questions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!