Post a new topic
    11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2009 10:14 PM by colorgirl

Tax Questions and Responsabilities

colorgirl Newbie
      I am a Color and Design Consultant in the Charlotte area and started my "business" just a year and a half ago. It has been very slow getting off the ground as the economy has not been great, but I have also had to be home more than ever with my two year old son. The way I have seen the business over the past year or so has been more of an "awesome extra curricular activity", than a true business. My husband has concerns of how we will be affected tax wise as the business really has not brought in more than a few thousand dollors over the past year of so. Time and the Economy has been the real issue? I would love to work more, but the balance of family, kids, life makes it tough to keep up with it all. How will I be affected - should I start fresh with a new business name and model? Fortunetly we are in a situation where, my bringing in a regular paycheck has not been the issue and I know if I had the time I could be very succesful as both my husband and I have great sales and business skills? Would love any advice to keep us going and be sure I am not headed down the wrong path. My biggest question is how does this affect my/us tax wise and what should I do from here to avoid any major issues?
      Thanks for your time.
        • Re: Tax Questions and Responsabilities
          Lighthouse24 Ranger

If you have been operating your business as a sole proprietorship, then you would complete a Schedule C (to figure/report your business income and expenses) and include it with your 1040 personal return (showing the "Net Profit" from your Schedule C in the appropriate box on the 1040).