Post a new topic
    14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2010 4:05 AM by Wholesalers

VoIP phone system or regular?

playaction Wayfarer
      Hi all
      Does anyone have any experience with VoIP business phone systems? I use a virtualPBX right now for my call routing, however we are getting ready to move into a real office and I was thinking about going with a VoIP system rather than the traditional phone lines. Any comments? Pro's/Con's?

I'm only going to need 2 lines and 4 extensions at first, but will be expanding. Another thing I am looking into is that since I will be installing a T1 line for my internet connection, what options would I have there (I'm assuming voip, but I am a newbie at voip so any help is appreciated!!

• Re: VoIP phone system or regular?
          Bridge Navigator
          I work out of a home office and use Voip. We use a virtualPBX for remote employees.

That said, if your business depends on calls and you will be in an office, I would use hard lines.

Just my opinion.

amspcs Ranger
            I have replaced a much more costly traditional business land line with a Vonage line. I did it'
            hesitantly since I have heard from some people who went VoIP, hated it, and switched back.
            Personally, I have no problem with it. The features are great, the cost saving is exceptional, and
            to boot I can now make calls to Canada without getting fleeced. I must admit the voice quality isn't always
            100% up to par with a land line, but it is more than acceptable.

Cons: I don't think it will work with either our fax or alarm setup. Plus, as anyone with internet connection knows, there IS occasional down time (but there are buttons and whistles included that largly resolve these issues). For these reasons, we still maintain a land-line phone as well.

I can't comment on multi-line Merlin and similar setups since I have no knowledge on that subject.
            Beyond that, I am a fan of VoIP.