Post a new topic
    9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2009 8:19 AM by phanio

New Consumer Product Idea

Engineer2008 Newbie
      Hi ..

I am a 30 year old experienced electrical and software engineer. I have an idea for a new consumer product that I think will sell (and let's assume it is in fact a good idea and with good marketing could in fact sell). I have created a mechanical and electrical prototype and i filed a provisional patent application myself and we can assume I am smart enough to do a reasonable job, but I know a lawyer would have done a better job. From what I have seen, to get real legal preparation for a provisional patent or the full patent, i need somewhere between $500 and $10000 .... the costs range wildly between different firms ... regarding marketing and business, I have no experience ... I am a great engineer, but I have no experience doing anything else ...

Now, I see different options:
      1) Spend a lot of time and money patenting the idea, or at least getting a provisional application filed with a real patent attorney
      2) Think about using one of those inventor help companies ... I have met with one and they seemed very unprofessional, and untrustworthy ... on the other hand they propose to offer low cost patent searches and marketing research reports ... any thoughts?
      3) What about investors? Can I get them at this early stage? How do I do it? What do I need? Does the actual device need to be physically completed?

Any other thoughts? I really want to protect and pursue this, as I believe it is a good idea and I think it will sell immediately.
        • Re: New Consumer Product Idea
          LUCKIEST Guide
          New Consumer Product Idea, Welcome