Post a new topic
    4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2009 3:01 PM by financeunow

Need sweet money for big dough

Cheesecakeman Newbie

First of all, let me set the record. I have been an Electrical Contractor for the past 20+ years here in Sunny Southern California. Some contractors are very successful, as we were maybe 10-15 years ago. But with the economy fluctuating up and down, it has been very difficult for many... I being one of those recently. Due to this, my credit has really taken it in the shorts. So standard financing to fund our new business is out of the question.

As a fun sideline business for me and my wife, I started a dessert business 6 years ago. This is our 7th year as of October. I develop all our recipes and products. We started with one cheesecake, and now produce 20+ different desserts for the restaurant industry.

We make our product in our home, and it is very small bakery. We produce desserts all day long everyday. Plus we deliver our desserts 2 days a week. I do all the marketing and sales. My marketing plan works wonders for our customers, as we increase their dessert sales by 400% easy when the switch to our products and let me take over their dessert program.

We supply full-color tabletop menus with pictures and descriptions of our desserts for our customers for free. I do all the art work in-house and we do the color laser printing in-house and laminating, so costs are low. Once we get our menus on their table, we have that landscape to advertise our desserts. We are in fact using the customers table to sell our desserts directly to their customer. We are not selling desserts to the restaurant and leaving the marketing up to them, which is the typical way of doing business. This way we can switch out slow moving lines and upgrade the menus as we please, since we do them in-house.