Post a new topic
    10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2009 3:22 PM by Iwrite

i need help with opening a boutique

love4fashion Newbie
      My dream for a long as i can remember was to have my own boutique. i recently graduated from college with a business degree, i have been working at nordstrom for the last 4 years and now i am finally begining to do research on opening my own boutique. i know that i need to develope my business plan but what comes next? who is best to speak to about a loan or funding? any advice on finding a mentor? i know that i need to go to market to buy product but are there any other ways to make contacts with vendors?
      i want to learn and know as much as possible so every bit of advice is wonderful!
      Thank you,
      love4fashion
        • Re: i need help with opening a boutique
          My_Lan Adventurer
          For financing you can look at these options:

1) Loans

2)Lines of Credits

3) Angels(People who give you money)

4) Personal Savings

5) Become a corp and issue stock

6) issues bonds

You and also ask SCORE for advise.
            NoBullFunding Scout
            Congrats on graduating! If you want to learn the business, the way to learn is to get a full time position in the industry. There is no substitute for experience, and what you'll learn by working in the field on a full time basis will give you more insight anyone could give you as a mentor. Having a mentor is a great thing, but the only way to really know a business inside out is to immerse yourself and do.

In general, in order to get financing, you'll need to save up some money to put in, and you'll need to have sufficient experience. So if you want to own a retail shop, you'll need to have experience managing a store. That includes everything staffing, payroll, inventory, marketing, finance, etc. A business plan is a good place to start, but a loan was never approved based on just a good idea.