Post a new topic
    6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2008 1:14 PM by aneita1

I'm French & willing to open a business: 2 quick questions

skidoo Newbie

Hello everyone,

I'm a french fashion designer. I travel back and forth to the U.S. every 3-4 months, always with a 90-days tourist/business visa, thus I'm neither a citizen nor a permanent resident (understand: I have no SSN). I want to launch a line of clothes with a small office based in Miami, FL so I can facilitate logistics and slaes relationship with retail stores in US.

Here's my 2 questions:

1) I'm about to incorporate an LLC (we're 2 partners and both french citizens) and wondering what type of documents will the bank ask us to open a business account? Is a passport enough? Will they require a SSN? (I can't have one since I have no special visa allowing me to work)

2) My business is to design clothes, and have manufactured through cut & sew services (contractors). Therefore I will just have a design studio, no actual employee to manufacture my products. Is my business category considered a manufacturer or a wholesale activiy?

Many thanks in advance for your answers,

Christine
        • Re: I'm French & willing to open a business: 2 quick questions
          Santa Fe CPA Adventurer

Hello Christine,

These are 2 very intersting questions you are posing here.