Skip navigation
This discussion is locked
Post a new topic
42 Replies Latest reply: Feb 29, 2008 9:06 AM by HandyHerman RSS

What is the best way to build a web presence?

gmonkey Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am a new business person with a home based business. We sell custom made wall hangings. How do we create a web presence for ourselves and get our message out to potential customers? I am particularily interested in how we get our website to show up in sites like Yahoo! or Google without having to pay them for advertising.
  • Re: What is the best way to build a web presence?
    Flowers Newbie
    I'm not a website expert, therefore I thought my perspective may be helpful for another novice. A lot of people with tell you that is it "easy" to create your own website, and there are a lot of "do it yourself" services to choose from. However, I tried a few and didn't think it was that easy. There are just a lot of little things to manage besides designing the website like getting a domain and driving traffic to the website. Companies like Website Pros will do everything for you, and I think they are a fairly well-priced full-service website company. They can manage everything for you, from the look and feel of the design to the lead generation. Personally, I think its the way to go; it would let you focus on your business rather than technical troubleshooting...
    NetworkGuru Newbie
    Adding your website to search engines is simple and free. To add yourself, go to the search engine(s) of your choice and select to Submit Your Site. On Yahoo.com, go to the bottom of the webpage and select "Suggest a Site". For Google.com, select the About link on the bottom of the webpage, then select "Submit your content to Google". Or, you can purchase a program like WebPosition, http://www.webposition.com, which will help you submit to many search engines at one time.
    DustinSteller Newbie
    There are lots of great ways to guerilla market your website.