Post a new topic
    12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 23, 2008 12:19 AM by Mybizfiler

Starting a Home Based Business?

gmonkey Wayfarer
      I started making decorative wall hangings for my house some time ago. A visiting friend asked me to make one for their home, and even offered to pay me. I, of course, said no, but then a friend of a friend asked me for one and so on. I think I am on to something here, and was thinking about making this into my own home based business. I am very unsure of what steps I need to take to get this started...after all, I am an artist, not a bookkeeper, accountant, or financial wizard.

What are the steps that I should take to start this business, and what pitfalls can the community help me avoid?
        • Re: Starting a Home Based Business?
          score81 Adventurer

Steps to Successful Business Start-up

1. Idea ( Product / Service)

2. Determining need or demand for product/Service.

3. Costing/Pricing your product/Service.

4. Test marketing your product/Service.

5. Protecting your idea.

6. Determining the sales revenue required for Break-even.

7. Determining Return on Investment(ROI).

8. Preparing a Business/Marketing/Financial plan.

9. Maintaining a record-keeping system to monitor business activity.

10. Planning ahead.

11. Maintaining flexibility.

Registering a Business

1. Choose Type of Business Organization
          2. Register with The State or County or City
          3. Obtain Employee Identification Number (EIN) from IRS
          4. Obtain Vendor's License (If Required)
          5. Obtain County and City Permits if Required Obtain Zoning Approval if Required

Tax

1. County Taxes# Unemployment Tax# Worker's Compensation Insurance# Sales Tax# Income Tax# Federal Income TaxFor Home business you can simply register the business in the City as DBA and use your Social Security Number as tax id and you are ready to see your product. If it grows then you can expand and change from DBA to LLC or S-Corp. etc.