Post a new topic
    3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 11, 2010 5:25 AM by Mongoose

Internet startup -need advice on sales position

bravcom Newbie
      Hi everyone, I just joined up, glad to find this place!

My name is Darrick and I'm in Tulsa, Oklahoma. I've been in the software/web programming and computer sales arena since 1996.

I am in the process of starting up an internet company with a very specific market - high schools (20,853) to be exact. I am working on my business and marketing plan and need some advice.

This product, although web based, will need to do a lot of cold calling and old fashion selling. It can't rely on web searches (though a percentage will come form the googlers!). Should I use in-house salespeople (1 or 2 to start) or outsource to some company (I'm not even sure if there is such a creature, but I'm betting there is).
      I have been in retail and web sales for around 10 years, but I will be busy in the development of the product (I'm a programmer), so I would not be able to do both jobs effectively, but with my experience, I can train any potential salespeople. The main issue, is which would be more cost effective? I would, most likely, use a fade against salary type of commission system if I had in-house sales, but thats still way up in the air!

A major issue is that with the potential number of customers, each needing attention from a salesperson, it could quickly get overwhelming, so I have to look at the potential of bringing in additional people during certain times of the year (school year starts, etc). This is going to be the same with the support staff.

So what I am looking for is some advice for these issues.

I'm also looking for a partner/investor for this. As I said I am in the process of putting together the business plan and marketing plan so I don't have either available at this time, but I can give anyone interested an overview (with a non-disclosure agreement, of course).