Skip navigation
This discussion is locked
Post a new topic
8 Replies Latest reply: Nov 20, 2008 5:29 PM by intechspecial RSS

Young Entrepreneur Seeking Advice

ryandinho Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello All,

I am a new member seeking advice on starting an online retail store, more specifically an online fashion boutique. I am about to graduate college in a few months and am strongly considering establishing my own business. Being a business school student has taught me that I will need certain things to be successful, mainly a sound business plan, financial forsight and management practices. From what I have gathered from online sources as well as a few personal references, online stores are definately not as costly as brick and mortar but often times requires just as much work. I have 3 questions that I would love to hear any advice on from some that have been down this road or have experience in a related business.

1. Being that I am a college student with no significant collateral or credit history to draw from, how and where should I seek to aquire investments for start up?

2. I intend to sell men's causal wear that is teetering on high fashion and vintage wear. What are the best ways aquire this type of inventory?

3. Initial Start-up cost estimates

If there is any advice you guys could give me, I would be greatly appreciative.
  • Re: Young Entrepreneur Seeking Advice
    ContractAcct Newbie
    First off I would recommend getting a good business plan in order. Without a plan no-one will take you seriously and no one will invest in or help your business. If you are an ofice user, you can download a emplate "business Plan for Startup Business" that will basically walk you through the entire process - all for free. It takes a while to fully develop your plan and once done you will continually tweak that plan as you try to get financing, backing, etc.