3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2008 9:38 AM by Chris1978

NYC: The right business structure?! LLC or SP

Chris1978 Newbie
      I am currently working on my business plan to apply for a
      small start up loan. Fortunately I am able to start a small business
      without the start up loan but it will give breathing room (via Accion
      NY) . (Aside from the
      market/credit lock crisis).

I should consult a lawyer, but before I do so.. I'll consult strangers on this
      board. I'm starting a webpage design company focused specifically at one
      industry. I have ten years of experience in this given industry and I see
      a demand. I'm torn if I shall file as an LLC or a sole
      proprietorship. Because it is a start-up, working as a SP takes a great
      deal of stress off the functioning and business taxes of the business, but when
      the company grows, will filing as an LLC be a nightmare?

Any insight? I much appreciate any insite.
        • Re: NYC: The right business structure?! LLC or SP
          GrowthCurve Adventurer

Forming an LLC is not complicated, and you'll still have to keep books for your business regardless of whether you're an LLC or a sole proprietor. You'll have to file one more tax return than otherwise, but it's not really all that burdensome.

I think you should separate your business life from your personal life as soon as possible -- and practical.

Having said that, I think you're smart to push back on creating a lot of administration for yourself before you even know if you have a business here or not.

How about this?

Go ahead and press on as a sole proprietor. Get one or two customers. Make a few bucks. Prove to yourself that there's really a business here. THEN go out and file for the LLC and do things the right way.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            Lighthouse24 Ranger